PIECES OF MY SOUL.

So, I rarely do this poetry thing.. Used to wonder how they (poets) get so rhymy and sentimental in their words but I got to understand.. it’s all about the muse. Mine..well, depends on life situations, movies I have watched, songs I hear… They give me this sudden burst of emotion, giving my all, making me feel like I have had my heart pierced and the words just ooze out of my mind like blood. It’s like I am in a trance till I place that final period where it’s supposed to be then I come back to reality. Some of these poems come with a tear, some nostalgia and some fantasy.

I keep most of them to myself but a good friend advised me to share it with the world, give them a little piece of my soul..(well not exactly but you get what I mean.. My soul is God’s alone).They ain’t quite perfect like Maya Angelou’s but they mean a lot to me.. Hope you enjoy this one entitled: IN MY DREAM..The rest will come with time.. Lemme know what you think.

IN MY DREAM.

In my dream, you are truly mine,

But in reality, you are truly a dream.

A dream so sweet, see now the cavities,

I need a doctor..to not only fill these gaps in my heart,

But also fill these holes in my soul with something else,

Something other than this sweetness I’m oh so addicted to.

 

In my dream, you are truly mine,

But in reality, you are truly a dream.

Don’t pinch me because I never want to wake up.

If I could, then know I would,

Live in this dream forever.

And should it turn to a nightmare,

You said, ” It means you ain’t tucked in well,”

So I hold on to my blanket a little tighter,

With the hope that I will continue dreaming,

Dreaming sweetly.

 

In my dream, you are truly mine,

But in reality, you are truly a dream,

With the rising sun, man departs from the warmth of his bed,

Out into the cold and unforgiving world where reality seems almost unbearable,

He awaits that precious moment of reunion with his sheets,

Where sleep gives him a comforting embrace and a first class ticket,

Destination Sweet Dreamland.

I too don’t wanna be left out on this trip…where all worries are forgotten,

But wait.. I am already here because,

Isn’t life just one big dream??

Then where does my dream and reality meet??

Pray tell me, I need to go there because I need to make this dream…

I need to make you my reality..

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “PIECES OF MY SOUL.

  1. Kasi Mumba says:

    Alright! I like. Alot! Post more…

  2. faith says:

    nice one!!! keep it up dear.

Leave a Reply

